Samita ASBL

Anagarika Sabbamitta

Anagarika Sabbamitta was born in Germany in 1959. While still a student she encountered Buddhism with Tibetan teachers first. She practised in this tradition for around 30 years as a lay practitioner with regular contacts to a small group in Alsace / France. This lineage of Tibetan Buddhism had a strong tradition of lay practitioners, so that the idea to go for monastic life didn’t occur to Sabbamitta, even if the Dhamma was her main interest in life.

At some point the Alsatian Dhamma group started studying suttas from the Pali canon next to what they learnt from the Tibetan Lamas. This broadened their understanding of the Dhamma and gave rise for Sabbamitta to meet practitioners and teachers of the Theravada tradition. Finally it was a metta meditation course taught by Bhante Sujato that opened her mind to embrace meditation more deeply, and also made ripen her wish to take up robes. Together with Ayya Vimala she became a founding member of Samita ASBL.

In 2015 she gave up her professional work, and after living in different forest monasteries in Australia for some time she received the Anagarika precepts from Ayya Vimala on 11th March 2017. She is helping to establish Tilorien monastery in Belgium with Samita ASBL.

Samita ASBL

Anagarika Sabbamitta

Anagarika Sabbamitta est née en Allemagne en 1959. Elle rencontra le bouddhisme, d’abord avec différents maîtres tibétains, alors qu’elle était étudiante. Elle pratiqua dans cette tradition comme laïque pendant environ 30 ans, toujours en contact étroit avec un petit groupe en Alsace (France). La lignée du bouddhisme tibétain dans laquelle le groupe alsacien pratiquait accordait aux pratiquants laïques une grande importance et c’est pourquoi Sabbamitta n’avait pas encore le projet d’intégrer l’ordre monastique, même si le Dhamma était le principal intérêt dans sa vie

Au fur et à mesure, le groupe alsacien se mit à étudier des suttas du canon Pali, en plus de ce qu’ils apprenaient des lamas tibétains. Cela élargissait leur compréhension du Dhamma et Sabbamitta commença à rencontrer des pratiquants et enseignants de la tradition Theravada. Finalement, c’est un cours sur la méditation metta, donné par Bhante Sujato, qui la décida à pratiquer la méditation plus intensivement et qui fit mûrir son souhait de prendre la robe. Ensemble avec Ayya Vimalā elle devint membre fondateur de Samita ASBL.

En 2015, elle abandonnait son travail professionnel et, après avoir vécu dans différents monastères de la forêt en Australie pour un certain temps, elle reçut les préceptes d’Anagarika de la part de Ayya Vimala le 11 mars 2017. Elle participe à la fondation du monastère Tilorien en Belgique avec Samita ASBL.