Samita ASBL

Ancient words, present choices, future visions—retreat with Bhante Sujato 2019

All events with Bhante Sujato in Europe

29th December 2019–8th January 2020 in Huy, Belgium

Bhante on rock

Ancient words, present choices, future visions

Buddhists like to talk about living in the moment. But the reality is that we inherit a vast tradition including ancient scriptures from the Buddha himself. A meaningful response to Buddhist ideas takes into account the heritage of the past in making choices for the future. And just as the people in the past—the creators of our tradition starting with the Buddha—made choices that still affect us today, the choices we make now will determine the future of others who live on this planet after us.

Is it possible that, learning from the wisdom of the Buddhist heritage, we can live our life today in a way that makes sense of the looming threats of the future?

Bhante Sujato, 2019

In meditation retreats, you let go of the complex world outside in order to reach a powerful peace within. Meditation is the path to a pure and empowered mind, the experience of which, released from the world, can be incredibly blissful and spiritually rewarding. Depending on your level of practice, as well as your life conditions, there may be some hard work, especially in the beginning. You’ll learn that effort alone is not sufficient. Effort needs to be skillful. In particular, patience and kindness towards oneself is required, and this can only be achieved through regular practice over time.

This retreat is designed to develop additional practical techniques and uncover deeper insights, building on your existing practice. Experience is not necessary but prior practice is still highly recommended. You can expect a strong focus on sitting and walking meditation for many hours a day, over the entire retreat, only interrupted by 3-4 hours of daily teaching, personal interviews and (vegetarian) meals. The bulk of your retreat time will be spent in solitude and silence, focusing on your inner states. We do not permit meditation methods that involve audible sounds and/or vigorous body movement as they disturb others. All participants must keep the meditation conditions advised by the Buddha and outlined below.

During the retreat, each participant should have two personal interviews with Bhante Sujato to discuss their spiritual progress.

The retreat will be held in English with translation according to needs.

Please click here for more information about Bhante Sujato.

Eight Precepts

This is an eight-precept retreat. All who attend are asked to undertake the following precepts for the duration of the retreat:

1. To abstain from killing living beings
2. To abstain from taking what is not given
3. To abstain from all sexual activity
4. To abstain from dishonest speech
5. To abstain from intoxicants
6. To abstain from taking food after mid-day
7. To abstain from singing, dancing, listening to music and from bodily adornments
8. To abstain from sleeping on luxurious beds

On almsround

Noble Silence

This is a “Noble Silence” retreat. This means that all participants are kindly asked to observe Noble Silence from the beginning of the retreat until the morning of the last full day. This applies as well for the public areas as for the rooms.

Noble Silence means no talking or non-verbal communication of any kind, except of course in emergencies, interviews or discussion times with the Teacher. Noble Silence applies not only to speech but also to any signals and written notes etc. as well as to external contact by telephone or internet.

The purpose of Noble Silence is to allow the mind to let go of outer distractions and to focus as much as possible on the inner world. In this regard it is also useful to minimize eye contact with other retreatants. Practicing restraint of the senses in this way provides an essential foundation for the powerful inner work which a meditation retreat facilitates.

This Noble Silence will give the participants the maximum benefit from the meditation they learn and minimizes the disturbance to others. Therefore, please do not play musical instruments, radios, mp3 players, etc.

Program

castle_with_prayer_flags(All sessions are optional.)

Sunday 29th Dec
17:00 – Arrival and registration
18:00 – Evening meal
20:00 – Welcome, organization, introduction into the retreat, meditation
21:30 – Meditation (optional)

30th Dec–7th Jan
6:00 – Chanting in the meditation hall
6:10 – Sitting / walking meditation
Dhamma_wheel7:00 – Breakfast and work-period
9:00 – Meditation teachings and Q&A
10:00 – Sitting / walking meditation
11:00 – Lunch
13.30 – Sitting / walking meditation
15:00 – Interviews
17:00 – Afternoon tea and “allowables”
18:00 – Dhamma talk with Bhante Sujato
20:00 – Sitting meditation (optional)

Wednesday 8th Jan
temple_at_night6:00 – Chanting in the meditation hall
6:10 – Sitting / walking meditation
7:00 – Breakfast and work-period
(Noble silence ends after breakfast)
9:00 – Meditation teachings and Q&A
10:00 – Sitting / walking meditation
11:00 – Lunch
12:00 – Finish and cleanup

Costs

This retreat, including accommodation, food, and contribution for the Teacher, is organized on the basis of donation. All expenses for your accommodation, meals, etc. are paid for you with the kind donations of previous participants and other donors, who wish to give others the opportunity to experience the Dhamma. All work is done on a voluntary basis only; nobody receives any remuneration.

It is Bhante Sujato’s wish that any surplus of donations will go half to SuttaCentral and half to Tilorien Monastery.

The table below lists the costs for the basic accommodation, meals, and expenses, depending on the type of accommodation you choose, and this does not include donations for the teachings by Bhante Sujato. These costs also cover afternoon snacks and drinks, rental of the hall and kitchen facilities, travel expenses and accommodation for Bhante Sujato, etc. Every participant may contribute at their discretion and according to their means, so you can also contribute to spreading the Dhamma further.

Single room en suite 750 €
Single room with shared bathroom 610 €
Double room en suite, per person 580 €
Double room with shared bathroom, per person 510 €
Shared room (4–8 people), per person 400 €

We ask a 100 € registration fee when booking, 50 € of which are non-refundable in case of cancellation. If you have difficulties paying 100 € registration fee, please contact us for our support fund.

In order for Samita to organize retreats on donation basis, we need to have a reasonable cash flow so that we can pay for venues up front. If you consider making a small donation before the retreat to help us meet our obligations, this would be much appreciated. You can do so via our bank account, and please mention your name and “Sujato retreat” as a reference. You can also use the PayPal “donate” button.

Support fund

If you wish to support other participants who have difficulties to afford the registration fee you can make a donation mentioning “support fund Sujato retreat” in the reference line.

danaAccount: Samita ASBL
Engreux 49G, 6663 Mabompré (Houffalize), Belgium
BIC: TRIOBEBB
IBAN: BE24 5230 8072 9438

Every donation helps us spread the Dhamma!

Registration

Click here to go to the registration.

Venue

The retreat takes place in the Tibetan center Yeunten Ling, Promenade Saint-Jean L’agneau 4 , 4500 Huy, Belgium (in between Liège and Namur).

It is an ancient castle the origins of which go back to the 7th century. The first person to be installed in the place was Jean de Hermalle (or ‘de Tihange’) who was later referred to as ‘Saint-Jean l’Agneau’ (‘Saint John the lamb’), because of his placid character. It is said that even the frogs stopped croaking in order not to disturb his meditation!

The center has received the Dalaï Lama several times.

wheel_with_gazelles small_temple frog
The meditation center offers simple accommodation in various categories of bedrooms as listed above.

Please bring:

double_room

  • Bed-linen or sleeping bag (can also be rented from the house for 9 €) and towels. A duvet and blankets are provided.
  • Only biodegradable toiletries.
  • Flashlight and umbrella.

Route

YEUNTEN LING
Promenade Saint-Jean L’agneau 4
4500 Huy, Belgique
+32 (0)85 27 11 88
yeunten.ling@tibinst.org
Google Maps

You can find more information on how to get there on their website (scroll far down!).

Please contact us for any questions you might have.

Samita ASBL

Mots anciens, choix présents, visions futures – retraite avec Bhante Sujato 2019

Toute l’actualité de Bhante Sujato en Europe

29 décembre 2019 au 8 janvier 2020 à Huy, Belgique

Bhante on rock

Mots anciens, choix présents, visions futures

Les bouddhistes aiment parler du moment présent. Mais la réalité est que nous héritons d’une vaste tradition incluant des écritures anciennes du Bouddha lui-même. Une réponse faisant sens aux idées bouddhistes tient compte de l’héritage du passé afin d’effectuer des choix pour l’avenir. Et, tout comme les peuples du passé – les créateurs de notre tradition, à commencer par le Bouddha ont fait des choix qui nous affectent encore aujourd’hui – les choix que nous faisons aujourd’hui détermineront l’avenir de ceux qui vivront sur cette planète après nous.

Est-il possible qu’en puisant dans la sagesse de l’héritage bouddhiste, nous puissions vivre notre vie aujourd’hui d’une manière qui donne sens aux menaces que pose le proche avenir?

Bhante Sujato, 2019

Au cours des retraites, en méditation, vous abandonnez la complexité du monde extérieur pour accéder à une puissante paix intérieure. La méditation est le chemin menant à un esprit pur et libre, détaché du monde. Une expérience qui peut être incroyablement heureuse et enrichissante sur le plan spirituel. En fonction de votre niveau de pratique et de vos conditions de vie, le travail peut être difficile, surtout au début. Vous allez apprendre que l’effort seul n’est pas suffisant. L’effort doit être habile. En particulier, la patience et la bienveillance envers soi-même sont nécessaires et cela ne peut être réalisé que par une pratique régulière.

Cette retraite a pour but de développer de nouvelles techniques pratiques et une compréhension plus profonde, tout en s’appuyant sur votre pratique existante. Vous n’avez pas besoin d’être expérimentés, mais une pratique préalable est fortement recommandée. L’accent sera mis sur la méditation assise et en marche plusieurs heures par jour, tout au long de la retraite. Elle ne sera interrompue que par 3 à 4 heures d’enseignement quotidien, d’entretiens personnels et de repas (végétariens). La majeure partie de votre temps se déroulera dans la solitude et le silence, en vous concentrant sur vos états intérieurs. Nous n’autorisons pas les méthodes de méditation qui impliquent des sons audibles et/ou des mouvements corporels vigoureux, car ils dérangent les autres. Tous les participants doivent respecter les conditions de méditation indiquées par le Bouddha et décrites ci-dessous.

Pendant la retraite, chaque participant devrait avoir deux entretiens personnels avec Bhante Sujato afin de discuter de ses progrès spirituels.

La retraite se tiendra en anglais avec traduction selon les besoins.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur Bhante Sujato.

Huit préceptes

Nous observons les huit préceptes durant la retraite. Tous les participants sont priés de suivre les préceptes suivants pendant toute la durée de la retraite:

1. S’abstenir de tuer des êtres vivants
2. S’abstenir de prendre ce qui n’est pas donné
3. S’abstenir de toute activité sexuelle
4. S’abstenir de discours malhonnête
5. S’abstenir de substances intoxicantes
6. S’abstenir de prendre de la nourriture après midi
7. S’abstenir de chanter, danser, écouter de la musique et des ornements corporels
8. S’abstenir de dormir sur des lits luxueux

On almsround

Noble Silence

Nous respectons le «Noble Silence» durant la retraite. Cela signifie que tous les participants sont priés d’observer Noble Silence du début de la retraite jusqu’au matin du dernier jour. Cela s’applique aussi bien aux espaces publics qu’aux chambres.

Le Noble silence signifie : pas de conversation ni communication non-verbale de quelque nature que ce soit, sauf bien sûr en cas d’urgence, d’interview ou de temps de discussion avec l’enseignant. Le Noble Silence s’applique non seulement à la parole, mais également aux signaux, notes écrites, etc., ainsi qu’aux contacts externes par téléphone ou par Internet.

Le Noble Silence a pour but de permettre à l’esprit de se défaire des distractions extérieures et de se concentrer au maximum sur le monde intérieur. Dans cette optique, il est également utile de minimiser le contact visuel avec les autres méditants. La diminution des contacts sensoriels fournit ainsi une base essentielle pour le puissant travail intérieur que facilite une retraite de méditation.

Ce Noble silence offrira aux participants le maximum des bienfaits de la méditation et réduira tout dérangement pour les autres pratiquants. Par conséquent, veuillez ne pas utiliser d’instruments de musique, radios, lecteurs MP3, etc.

Programme

castle_with_prayer_flags(Toutes les sessions sont facultatives.)

Dimanche 29 décembre
17:00 – Arrivée et inscription
18:00 – Repas du soir
20:00 – Bienvenue, organisation, introduction à la retraite, méditation
21:30 – Méditation (facultatif)

30 décembre au 7 janvier
6:00 – Chant dans la salle de méditation
6:10 – Méditation assise / en marche
Dhamma_wheel7:00 – Petit déjeuner et période de travail
9:00 – Enseignement de la méditation et questions / réponses
10:00 – Méditation assise / en marche
11:00 – Déjeuner
13.30 – Méditation assise / en marche
15:00 – Entretiens individuels
17:00 – Thé de l’après-midi et «collations autorisées»
18:00 – Discours sur Dhamma de Bhante Sujato
20:00 – Méditation assise (facultatif)

Mercredi 8 janvier
temple_at_night6:00 – Chant dans la salle de méditation
6:10 – Méditation assise / en marche
7:00 – Petit déjeuner et période de travail
(Le Noble Silence se termine après le petit déjeuner)
9:00 – Enseignement de la méditation et questions / réponses
10:00 – Méditation assise / en marche
11:00 – Déjeuner
12:00 – Fin et nettoyage

Frais

Cette retraite, comprenant l’hébergement, la nourriture et la contribution pour l’enseignant, est organisée sur base du don. Tous les frais d’hébergement, de repas, etc. sont payés pour vous grâce aux aimables dons de participants précédents et d’autres donateurs qui souhaitent offrir à d’autres personnes la possibilité d’expérimenter le Dhamma. L’organisation est uniquement faite sur base volontaire et personne ne reçoit de rémunération.

Bhante Sujato souhaite que tout excédent de dons aille pour moitié à SuttaCentral et pour l’autre moitié au monastère Tilorien.

Le tableau ci-dessous répertorie les coûts du logement de base, des repas et des dépenses, en fonction du type d’hébergement choisi, sans compter les dons pour les enseignements de Bhante Sujato. Ces coûts comprennent également les collations et les boissons de l’après-midi, la location de la salle et de la cuisine, les frais de déplacement et de logement de Bhante Sujato, etc. Chaque participant peut contribuer à sa discrétion et selon ses moyens afin d’aider à la propagation du Dhamma.

Chambre individuelle avec salle bains 750 €
Chambre individuelle avec salle de bain partagée 610 €
Chambre double avec salle bains, par personne 580 €
Chambre double avec salle de bain partagée, par personne 510 €
Chambre partagée (4–8 personnes), par personne 400 €

Nous demandons des frais d’inscription de 100 € lors de la réservation, dont 50 € non remboursables en cas d’annulation. Si vous rencontrez des difficultés pour payer les 100 € de frais d’inscription, veuillez nous contacter pour faire intervenir notre fonds de soutien.

Pour que Samita puisse organiser des retraites sur base de dons, nous devons disposer d’un flux de trésorerie raisonnable afin de pouvoir payer les salles à l’avance. Faire une petite donation avant la retraite pour nous aider à respecter nos obligations serait très apprécié. Vous pouvez le faire via notre compte bancaire en mentionnant votre nom et «Sujato retreat» en référence. Vous pouvez également utiliser le bouton « donate » de PayPal.

Fonds de soutien

Si vous souhaitez soutenir d’autres participants qui ont des difficultés à payer les frais d’inscription, vous pouvez faire un don en mentionnant «Fonds de soutien pour la retraite de Sujato» en référence.

danaCompte: Samita ASBL
Engreux 49G, 6663 Mabompré (Houffalize), Belgique
BIC: TRIOBEBB
IBAN: BE24 5230 8072 9438

Chaque don nous aide à propager le Dhamma!

Inscription

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire.

Lieu

La retraite a lieu dans le centre tibétain Yeunten Ling, Promenade Saint-Jean L’agneau 4 , 4500 Huy, Belgique (entre Liège et Namur).

C’est un ancien château dont les origines remontent au 7e siècle. Jean de Hermalle (ou «de Tihange») a été le premier à s’installer sur la place. Il a ensuite été surnommé «Saint-Jean l’Agneau» en raison de son caractère placide. On dit que même les grenouilles ont cessé de coasser pour ne pas déranger sa méditation!

Le centre a accueilli le Dalaï Lama à plusieurs reprises.

wheel_with_gazelles small_temple frog
Le centre de méditation propose un hébergement simple (voir les différentes catégories de chambres ci-dessus).

Veuillez apporter:

double_room

  • Draps ou sac de couchage (peuvent également être loués sur place pour 9 €) et serviettes. Une couette et des couvertures sont fournies.
  • Uniquement des articles de toilette biodégradables.
  • Lampe de poche et parapluie.

Route

YEUNTEN LING
Promenade Saint-Jean L’agneau 4
4500 Huy, Belgique
+32 (0)85 27 11 88
yeunten.ling@tibinst.org
Google Maps

Vous pouvez trouver plus d’informations sur la façon de s’y rendre sur leur site web (tout en bas de la page!).

Veuillez nous contacter que vous pourriez avoir.